29 of 50 “Tastiest” Soups in NYC – Corsino’s Busecca: MY NEW FAVE!!

MY TASTEFUL OPINION:  Go. Eat. A. Bowlful. NOW!

I’m Chinese.  I grew up eating strange things – duck tongue (ick!), chicken feet (yum!), duck blood (ick!), cow

Corsino's Busecca

tongue (yum!), fish eyeballs (yum!), pig’s feet & other parts (double yum!)…[wait, do I have a foot fetish?]…so it’s not too strange that I love me some tripe (cow’s stomach).

Corsino’s bottomless bowl of Busecca ($12, an increase of $2 since 2009), a Milanese tripe soup, is my new love.  Yep, I’ve got a new fave on this list!  It may beat out my first love* – Alsation Beer Soup – by far since it’s slightly less expensive and a lot larger.  Size does matter.

Tripe, Beans and Other Goodness!!

The chef at Corsino certainly didn’t skimp on ingredients or flavor either.  An endless amount of tender tripe, substantially-sized cranberry beans**, celery, carrots, slivers of meat and other unknown heavenly goodness came together to make a bold, hearty and almost orgasmic experience.  I imagined myself curled up in a blanket, by a fire, in a quaint log cabin surrounded by rolling hills of fluffy, white snow.  I felt warm.  And, even though I’ve never tried another version before, when New York said the beans distinguished this version from others, they were right.  Without the beans to provide texture – one that would counteract the sliminess – it would’ve felt like an unfinished painting.  With them, it’s a masterpiece.

So, whenever you decide to visit Corsino, don’t just glance over it on the menu or stare longingly at someone else’s bowl.  Purchase it for yourself, and savor it as your entire meal.

—–

*I never actually declared this as my fave when I wrote it, but when people would ask me what my fave was so far, I would always mention this one.

**New York magazine says they’re Greenmarket cranberry beans that the chef stocks up on and freezes to last through the winter, but I have no idea if these were it.  They were awesome regardless!

Corsino
637 Hudson Street
New York, NY 10014
212.242.3093
http://www.corsinocantina.com/home

—–

Over $10 – These soups should have a gold leaf in them.

$6 to $10 – You’re not shellin’ out the gold, but also not gettin’ super lucky.

Under $6 – It’s your lucky day!

About Tynee

My latest adventure: trying all 50 of what New York Magazine dubbed the "Tastiest" Soups in the city in 2009. Read all about it here. View all posts by Tynee

7 responses to “29 of 50 “Tastiest” Soups in NYC – Corsino’s Busecca: MY NEW FAVE!!

Leave a comment