35 of 50 “Tastiest” Soups in NYC – Margot’s Sancocho de Rabo: A Swing and a Miss That Could Possibly Be a Hit

MY TASTEFUL OPINION:  Based on the substitute soup I tried, I’m going to make an educated guess that the New York magazine-featured one is pretty darn tasty when they make it.

Last Friday was a day of adventure.  Before flying to Orlando to get to Hogwarts after work (any Harry Potter fans out there?!), I made my way to Washington Heights – 159th Street and Broadway – for my first Dominican lunch.  This time, I didn’t bother to call ahead of time since it seemed like maybe the Sancocho de Rabo (oxtail soup) was a staple at this tiny, homey restaurant.  I was extremely excited about it because I loooove oxtail and I loooove tubers (New York magazine said they usually include a trio of three different ones, including plantains!! YUM!).  Unfortunately, I missed out yet again since they didn’t make it that day.  So sad.

Mondongo at Margot

What they did have was the Mondongo (tripe soup) and the Sopa de Pollo (chicken soup).  When I asked what was better, I was told the Mondongo was really good if I liked tripe.  I said I did and asked for a large order of it since I was starving ($7; $5 small).  The waitress looked at me incredulously and told me that she thought a large might be too much for me.  I confirmed it was the same size as the bowl the guy next to me was eating out of, and said that a large was a-ok.  The bowl of tripe from Corsina was just as big!  I could do it!  I’m a very petite woman with a big appetite, darn it!  Oh, and please add a side of white rice to that, thanks!

The confidence remained even after I took my first few bites of what seemed to be an endless amount of tripe.  I could’ve had the entire stomach floating in there.  (Hm, a stomach filling my stomach…weird.)  The ugly squishy chunks were partially disguised (and enhanced) by a red, meaty broth, green olives, capers, red and green bell peppers, celery, onions and maybe some other unidentifiable ingredients.  My favorite part, at first, was getting an olive with a spoonful of tripe and broth, but as I got a quarter of the way through the bowl, I felt my blood pressure increase a little.  It just became saltier and saltier, and I began using the rice as a chaser.  The never-ending tripe also started becoming a chore to eat, and it didn’t help that I kept thinking about Corsina’s busecca.  It just didn’t compare, and, after I got about halfway through, I dropped my spoon and quit.  The challenge was over.

But, since I couldn’t leave with the waitress thinking “I told you so” (no way, Jose!), I asked if I could get the rest of the bowl to go, knowing very well that I wouldn’t be able to drop it off at home before heading to the airport.  And, soon after I walked out of the restaurant, I shamefully threw my doggie bag into the trash.  Sometimes I admit defeat, but, this time, this SOUPer woman couldn’t do it.  :op

Would I have actually taken the leftovers home to eat later on?  Definitely.  But given a choice between Margot and Corsina, the latter will win every time.  And, if I ever get a chance to try Margot’s oxtail soup, I’m most certainly going to do that.  I still have high hopes for that.

Margot
3822 Broadway (just north of 159th Street)
New York, NY 10032
(212) 781-8494

—–

Over $10 – These soups should have a gold leaf in them.

$6 to $10 – You’re not shellin’ out the gold, but also not gettin’ super lucky.

Under $6 – It’s your lucky day!

About Tynee

My latest adventure: trying all 50 of what New York Magazine dubbed the "Tastiest" Soups in the city in 2009. Read all about it here. View all posts by Tynee

Leave a Reply

