40 of 50 “Tastiest” Soups in NYC – Kuba Soup at Mimi’s Hummus: Good and Filling But Not the Highlight

MY TASTEFUL OPINION:  Make the tasty kubbeh smaller and then let it float in the broth, or serve the kubbeh sans broth?  Or would that be blasphemy?

From the name, Mimi’s Hummus would seem to only serve hummus.  But, while the menu does feature a variety of hummus (definitely some creamy goodness), it features a few other items that will rock your world.

I went there for brunch one weekend afternoon with JM, hoping that they’d serve the Kuba Soup ($11), but I was out of luck…sorta.  I didn’t get the soup, but I got a really freakin’ spectacular brunch.

The next night, JM and I went back for dinner since I was told they served the soup at dinner only.  The waitress informed me that the soup was good enough as an entree, and she sure as heck wasn’t lying.  Kuba (or Kubbeh) are meat dumplings which are apparently a specialty of Jews from Kurdistan.  They’re filled with ground beef, spices and usually pine nuts (although I’m not sure Mimi’s Hummus used the nuts).

Kuba Soup at Mimi's Hummus

In a shallow bowl, Mimi served three very hefty and dense dumplings within a light, slightly sweet and vinegary beet broth.  They were surrounded by chunks of beets that were, thankfully, not too soft or mushy.

The Meat

The kubbeh reminded me of ground beef empanadas or Jamaican beef patties, but better.  I had two thoughts while chowing down:  1)  I wish they brought it out steaming hot, as opposed to lukewarm, and 2)  I’m not sure if I would really call this a soup since the dumplings were like boulders that stood atop a thin layer of broth.

I probably wouldn’t go back for the kubbeh alone, but I’d definitely buy a frozen bag of them if they sold it.  If I manage to get back there, it would be for the brunch dishes, fresh whole wheat pita, hummus and general atmosphere.

Mimi’s Hummus
1209 Cortelyou Road
Brooklyn, NY 11218
718.284.4444
http://www.mimishummus.com/

—–

Over $10 – These soups should have a gold leaf in them.

$6 to $10 – You’re not shellin’ out the gold, but also not gettin’ super lucky.

Under $6 – It’s your lucky day!

About Tynee

My latest adventure: trying all 50 of what New York Magazine dubbed the "Tastiest" Soups in the city in 2009. Read all about it here. View all posts by Tynee

Leave a comment