34 of 50 “Tastiest” Soups in NYC – B&H Dairy’s Vegetarian Borscht: A Better Borscht Experience But Still Not A Borscht Fan

MY TASTEFUL OPINION:  Better than Veselka’s, but still not for me.

B&H Dairy is apparently one of the few kosher dairy restaurants left in New York City, and after more than 65 years in business, it’s still attracting plenty of customers.  I made my way there after work last week, even though I was still insanely stuffed from my late lunch.

I felt like I walked into one of those scary and depressing diners from a movie.  You know, the quiet, old diner in the middle of a desert that people go to after they leave their car at the scary gas station nearby.   B&H Dairy was a lot smaller, though.  The sliver of a room had one long counter with stools and some rectangular cocktail tables along the wall directly behind the stools.  The restaurant was pretty full – and very quiet – and once I squeezed myself into one of the counter seats, I had to get used to the arriving and departing customers brushing up against me.

Vegetarian Borscht at B&H Dairy

The steaming cup of fluorescent pink Vegetarian Borscht ($4.25 cup, $4.50 bowl) was placed in front of me immediately after I ordered it.  It looked like the meaty version at Veselka, but, instead of meat, it had a mix of beets, beans, bay leaves, cabbage, potato chunks, dill, and carrots.  I was expecting a depressing experience like the first time I had borscht, especially with the depressing ambience, but I was pleasantly surprised.   B&H Dairy’s borscht was sweeter and less vinegary, which made this the winning borscht for me, but I can also see the sweetness becoming a bit overwhelming.  I’d be happier skipping the soup and eating a whole loaf of the restaurant’s homemade sweet Challah bread.

I think I can now confidently declare that borscht is one of my least favorite soups, and, sadly, I think the color is a tiny part of the problem.  Borscht virgins should first try it before declaring the same thing.  I did see a woman scraping the bottom of her own cup.  :oD

B&H Dairy
127 Second Avenue (near St. Mark’s)
New York, NY 10003
212-505-8065

—–

Over $10 – These soups should have a gold leaf in them.

$6 to $10 – You’re not shellin’ out the gold, but also not gettin’ super lucky.

Under $6 – It’s your lucky day!

About Tynee

My latest adventure: trying all 50 of what New York Magazine dubbed the "Tastiest" Soups in the city in 2009. Read all about it here. View all posts by Tynee

Leave a Reply

