32 of 50 “Tastiest” Soups in NYC – i Sodi’s Pappa al Pomodoro: M.I.A.

MY TASTEFUL OPINION:  Don’t feature soups in your magazine if they will only be on the menu for a week.

Unfortunately, there’s not much to write about i Sodi’s Pappa al Pomodoro soup because it wasn’t on the menu last Saturday.  And you know why it wasn’t on the menu last Saturday?  Because their menu changes weekly.  Yes, that is correct – their.  menu.  changes.  weekly.

If this is really true (and I can only believe that it is because the restaurant told me so), why in the world would New York magazine put this on their list??  Magazine readers often hold onto magazines for a while.  Foodies often like to try the things that magazines feature – sometimes sooner rather than later, but sometimes later rather than sooner.  Sure, I attempted to try this a year and two months later, but their.  menu.  changes.  WEEKLY!  So featuring a soup that may have only been on a restaurant’s menu for one week seems a bit…stupid…and annoying.  The least that New York mag could’ve done was put a disclaimer:  “i Sodi will put it on the menu during X week, so don’t miss it!”  Or maybe “i Sodi only made this specially for us, so, we’re featuring it, but, too bad, you can’t have any of this deliciousness.  Na nannee boo booooo!”

Annyyywwaayy, I’ll quit my bitching and say that, based on the actual food I ate at the restaurant (read my Yelp review of the full meal), the soup could’ve been either really good or really not so good.  I guess I’ll never know, and I really don’t care.  :o)

But I do care about you, dear readers, so I wouldn’t leave you soupless like I was.  Here are two recipes for Pappa al Pomodoro, if you care to make it on your own.

Food & Wine:  http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/pappa-al-pomodoro

And another probably less fancy recipe from Food Network:  http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/michael-chiarello/pappa-al-pomodoro-recipe/index.html

If you try to make one, let me know how it goes!

i Sodi
105 Christopher St
(between Bedford St & Bleecker St)
New York, NY 10014
(212) 414-5774

—–

Over $10 – These soups should have a gold leaf in them.

$6 to $10 – You’re not shellin’ out the gold, but also not gettin’ super lucky.

Under $6 – It’s your lucky day!

About Tynee

My latest adventure: trying all 50 of what New York Magazine dubbed the "Tastiest" Soups in the city in 2009. Read all about it here. View all posts by Tynee

2 responses to “32 of 50 “Tastiest” Soups in NYC – i Sodi’s Pappa al Pomodoro: M.I.A.

Leave a Reply

