Nothing Like Feeling at Home

Last night I finished a big pot of soup that I had made for the entire week.  It’s my favorite soup that my dad made while growing up, and I’ve been making it ever since I had to cook for myself (starting in college).  Who knows if Dad would approve, but here are the ingredients:

oxtail (if the store has it)
beef cubes
ginger
potato
carrots
tomatoes
onions (forgot this time, tho)
salt

So simple but so soothing to the soul.  I always feel better after having some.

A big part of the reason I love soup so much is probably because my dad is Cantonese, and the Cantonese tradition is to have soup (and a whole fish) at dinner.  So, every night, along with all the different entrees at the center of the table, we would have a bowl of rice and a tiny clear bowl of delicious soup next to it.  We’d start with the soup first, before digging into the dishes, and, oftentimes, we’d each go for seconds or even thirds.

Tom Yum Goong (almost done) & Drunken Noodles

This tradition has somewhat carried over to my meals at my own home in NYC.  Whenever I need to order takeout, I always order soup with it.  In most cases, it’s Tom Yum Goong since I’m usually ordering Thai food.  It was no different tonight.  I’m glad I thought to take a photo before I finished it because it was going down fast, even though it wasn’t the best I’ve had in terms of all the Tom Yum’s I’ve had and in general.

My friend made a funny, but possibly true, comment the other night: “Just watch, after trying all 50, you’re still going to think yours is the best.”  We will have to see, but there really is nothing like feeling at home…

About Tynee

My latest adventure: trying all 50 of what New York Magazine dubbed the "Tastiest" Soups in the city in 2009. Read all about it here. View all posts by Tynee

Leave a Reply

