26 of 50 “Tastiest” Soups in NYC – Artisanal’s French Onion Soup: Let’s Cut to the Cheese, It’s Grrreat!

MY TASTEFUL OPINION:  A crock full of (good) sh*t.

MS, ND, JM, CD, TSH and I clogged up our arteries at Artisanal just a few days after Thanksgiving.  Luckily, I actually missed turkey dinner this time around, otherwise I would’ve felt extra guilty.

Artisanal's French Onion Soup - Nice crispy layer

According to New York magazine, this French Onion Soup ($12.50) incorporated not just one, but three different cheeses – Gruyere, Emmental (wha?) and Parmigiano-Reggiano.  I’m not sure if using three versus one made it a winner, but I am sure that I enjoyed the cheesiness.  It was like eating a savory crème brulée – burnt, crisp layer atop a decadent creamy one.  Take a chunk of that; add some sweet, melt-in-your-mouth onions; pair it with a full-bodied, golden broth, and you’ve got a spoonful of premium soup that will make you say, “Oui oui!”

Um, yes, I ate AALLL the cheese...

I will admit that I was talking about the heaviness of the cheese as I was eating it since you really had to dig through to get to the broth.  But then ND, a French Onion Soup maven, taught me that I should actually swirl the cheese in the broth to let it melt a little, and I’ll probably have a smoother experience.  Good tip!  Anyone else have a specific method?

Please note:  I’m not usually this cheesy (or am I?),  but it was hard to resist with this post. ;op

Artisanal Fromagerie and Bistro
2 Park Avenue (at 32nd Street)
New York, NY 10016
212.725.8585
http://www.artisanalbistro.com/

—–

Over $10 – These soups should have a gold leaf in them.

$6 to $10 – You’re not shellin’ out the gold, but also not gettin’ super lucky.

Under $6 – It’s your lucky day!

About Tynee

My latest adventure: trying all 50 of what New York Magazine dubbed the "Tastiest" Soups in the city in 2009. Read all about it here. View all posts by Tynee

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

